Heavy Music Awards have announced their ‘Young Photographer of the Year’ Award nominees for 2020, and the whole VH Music team would like to give a massive congratulations to our very own Dani Willgress on her nomination for her photos of Yungblud at Brixton Academy for VultureHound last November (which you can check out here).

We’d also like to give a huge congratulations to VultureHound contributor Martha Fitzpatrick on her nomination for her work with Dream State.

The ‘Young Photographer of the Year’ Award is now in its fourth year and recognises the best in music photography from the ages of 16 to 21. This year, the legendary Paul Harries handpicked six finalists who will now go forward for a public vote:

Sky Buerhaus     Martha Fitzpatrick

George Girvan     James Kay

Josh Leveridge     Dani Willgress

Of the competition, Paul Harries has said, “It’s a privilege to be asked to provide a short-list for the Young Photographer of the Year competition. I’m regularly asked for advice by budding young photographers so this is a great opportunity for me to edit for the most promising 16-21 year olds. I’m already looking forward to working with the winner on a shoot next year so I can offer advice, hopefully inspire, and perhaps share a few trade secrets.”

And Heavy Music Awards co-founder Andy Prichard had this to say: “YPOTY has become one of the most fun and exciting elements of the HMAs each year – the quality of the photographs we receive is astounding and we’re incredibly proud to be able to offer this platform to those who will undoubtedly be at the vanguard of heavy music photography in years to come. Having Paul Harries involved for 2020, a genuine legend of the scene, is a real honour.”

Voting closes on January 31st, and the winner will be announced on February 5th. Vote here.