MTV Unplugged in New York

Nirvana’s MTV Unplugged in New York is one of the most acclaimed and storied live albums of all time. One of the more non-traditional performances in the history of the MTV series, the album built a greater legacy as the first Nirvana release after the death of Kurt Cobain in 1994. Even despite Cobain’s insistence on sidestepping most of the band’s hits for their set, the acoustic versions of “About a Girl” and David Bowie’s “The Man Who Sold the World” would go on to become eternal fan favorites.

In honor of the album’s 25th anniversary, MTV Unplugged will be reissued as a double LP for the first time on November 1. The new edition of the album will include five rehearsal recordings that were previously only available on DVD, and will include silver foil detail on the front and back of the gatefold cover. The reissue will include a widely released pressing on 180-gram black vinyl, as well as a limited edition colored vinyl version which will be available only through the band’s website.

The 25th anniversary edition of MTV Unplugged in New York is available for pre-order now. Revisit the classic performance of “About a Girl” below and check out the tracklist on the other side.

MTV Unplugged in New York (25th Anniversary Edition):

  1. About a Girl
  2. Come As You Are
  3. Jesus Doesn’t Want Me For a Sunbeam
  4. The Man Who Sold the World
  5. Pennyroyal Tea
  6. Dumb
  7. Polly
  8. On a Plain
  9. Something in the Way
  10. Plateau
  11. Oh Me
  12. Lake of Fire
  13. All Apologies
  14. Where Did You Sleep Last Night?
  15. Come As You Are (Rehearsal)
  16. Polly (Rehearsal)
  17. Plateau (Rehearsal)
  18. Pennyroyal Tea (Rehearsal)
  19. The Man Who Sold the World (Rehearsal)