Invada Records and Lakeshore Records will co-release MONOS—Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, featuring original music by Ivor Novello Award winner and Academy Award-nominated Mica Levi (Jackie, Under the Skin).  The London-based composer, music producer and artist creates an indescribably hallucinatory, often menacing backdrop to the survivalist thriller set on a remote mountain in Latin America.  The soundtrack will be released digitally worldwide—internationally by Invada Records and in North America by Lakeshore Records–on August 30.  The track “Monos” will be available as an instant grat track August 8 with all album preorders. The NEON film directed by Alejandro Landes (Porfirio), will get a UK cinema release later this year.

Monos, Alejandro Landes’ awe-inspiring third feature, is a breathtaking survivalist saga set on a remote mountain in Latin America. The film tracks a young group of soldiers and rebels — bearing names like Rambo, Smurf, Bigfoot, Wolf and Boom-Boom — who keep watch over an American hostage, Doctora (Julianne Nicholson). The teenage commandos perform military training exercises by day and indulge in youthful hedonism by night, an unconventional family bound together under a shadowy force known only as The Organization. After an ambush drives the squadron into the jungle, both the mission and the intricate bonds between the group begin to disintegrate. Order descends into chaos and within Monos the strong begin to prey on the weak in this vivid, cautionary fever-dream.
Says Levi: “I really like all the characters, the Jungle, the mountains and the waves and the sounds of the natural environment–the film crew went to places no one has ever filmed in, recorded sound in, at least for a film. Lena Esequenzis did all the sound and environmental sound. then with the director Alejandro Landes and music supervisor Bridget Samuels and eventually engineer Leandro De Loredo, we worked to get a balance of sound and music to picture.  I hope you all enjoy the film as much as I did.”

 Says Landes: “Mica connected with and understood the spirit of the film: the faces, the colors, the extremeness of the environment, the mash of costumes, the absence of a specific time, place or date. She’s classically trained but can be equally as inspired by pop or heavy metal; she can mix synthesizer-driven music with a quartet. All this brings a very particular sensibility, a mixing of instruments, that made for a distinct, emotional and atemporal sound.”

Track List
01. Guerreros

02. Mensajero

03. Lobo Y Lady

04. Aullido

05. Solos

06. Funeral

07. Honguitos

08. A La Selva

09. Sin Radio

10. Castigo

11. El Regreso De Patagrande

12. Pisa Suave

13. Corre

14. Helicóptero

15. Monos

By Michael Dickinson

Michael is the VultureHound Film Editor.