New Zealand rockers Miss June have announced that their debut album Bad Luck Party will be coming out on 6th September on Frenchkiss Records, and have a shared new track ‘Enemies’.

The Auckland four piece’s new single follows their great double A-side single ‘Best Girl/Twitch’ from earlier this year, but it’s a much darker affair. ‘Enemies’ sheds the poppy hooks of those earlier tracks in favour of a darker tone and a more propulsive, urgent, adrenaline-fuelled sound.

The video is directed by Dylan Pharazyn, who says “the track gets at that feeling of instability in a relationship when there’s full on confusion around who your friends are or who you are… reality runs amok.  I started to imagine this full throttle dream sequence in which a young couple bash through a bizarre night. As they find new places, they encounter strangers who at first seem normal become weird and dangerous creep characters… or ‘enemies’. I felt like this erratic narrative had a powerful connection with the song – fast and heavy in a super off-kilter way.”

Watch the video (which contains flashing images) below:

Combining elements of post-punk, no-wave and rock, along with a healthy dollop of grunge, Miss June have built a strong live reputation, earning support slots with the Foo Fighters, Shellac, Wolf Alice and Idles, and should be announcing UK live dates soon. Bad Luck Party is due out on September 6th on Frenchkiss Records, the legendary indie label set up by Les Savy Fav’s bassist Syd Butler, and which currently plays host to The Hold Steady, Eleanor Friedberger, Diet Cig and more.

You can pre-order Bad Luck Party here and the tracklist for the album is below:

  1. Twitch
  2. Best Girl
  3. Two Hits
  4. Anomaly
  5. Orchid
  6. Double Negative
  7. Enemies
  8. Aquarium
  9. Scorpio
  10. Please Waste My Time
  11. Polio