Most people probably recognise The Rasmus, if only for the Finnish outfit’s famous gothic track ‘In The Shadows‘. Well, the band is keen to not rest on former glories and has marked 2017 as the year for an international comeback. They dropped a track earlier this year and have now shared the first taste of their newest album.

The band is once again striking that chord of familiar Nordic melancholia with ‘Silver Night‘. The chilling new single is the lead single of the long-awaited album, Dark Matters, which was produced by Swedish team, The Family (Iggy Azalea, Fifth Harmony).

Singer Lauri Ylönen has said of the new album that “the thinking behind our new songs was to create the kind of music we would like to listen to. We haven’t abandoned our signature northern melancholy but you can hear a wide range of influences in our new compositions. The new album is like a rollercoaster with many different emotions and personal feelings. Our music is at times dark, speculative, melodic and sometimes even sad.

You can view the lyric video to the new single below.

By Tom Roden

Prolific writer, full-time insomniac and caffeine-blooded workaholic. Music deputy editor and quality control officer for VultureHound.