Production has officially wrapped on the upcoming, highly anticipated Star Wars: Episode VIII.

Written and directed by Rian Johnson (Looper), Episode VIII will pick up where last year’s Star Wars The Force Awakens left off, welcoming back cast members Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Lupita Nyong’o, Oscar Isaac, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, and Andy Serkis. Academy Award winner Benicio Del Toro, Academy Award nominee Laura Dern, and talented newcomer Kelly Marie Tran also join the cast.

“Final slate of the final shot. VIII is officially wrapped,” director Rian Johnson said. “Thanks to the best cast and crew in the galaxy, and thanks to the fans for all the love and support though the whole process. Cannot wait to put it together and share it with you all!

The as-of-yet untitled Star Wars: Episode VIII is scheduled for release on December 25, 2017.

While they wait, eager fans can look forward to the upcoming Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, a prequel directed by Gareth Edwards and set before Star Wars: A New Hope that will reveal how the Rebel Alliance stole the plans for the original Death Star.

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story is set for a 16 December, 2016 release.


By Stanyo Zhelev

Stanyo Zhelev is a writer and a blogger with a passion for film, video games and comic books. Currently studying for an undergraduate degree in London