Norwegian singer Jenny Hval is less than a year out from the release of her third studio album, the excellent Apocalypse, girl. Today, she returns to announce details of album No. 4, Blood Bitch, which hits shelves on September 30th via Sacred Bones. Though expect it to be a “complete 180” from its predecessor.

In a statement, Hval went on to describe the 10-track effort as her “most fictional and most personal album”, seeing her “reconnecting with the goth and metal scene I started out playing in many years ago, by remembering the droney qualities of Norwegian Black Metal.” And it couldn’t possibly be a Goth album without some slightly heady, deeply theatrical story elements:

Blood Bitch is an investigation of blood. Blood that is shed naturally. The purest and most powerful, yet most trivial, and most terrifying blood: Menstruation. The white and red toilet roll chain which ties together the virgins, the whores, the mothers, the witches, the dreamers, and the lovers.

There is a character in this story that is a vampire Orlando, traveling through time and space. But there is also a story here of a 35-year old artist stuck in a touring loop, and wearing a black wig. She is always up at night, jet lagged, playing late night shows – and by day she is quietly resting over an Arp Odyssey synthesizer while a black van drives her around Europe and America.

We get to take our first bite of Blood Bitch courtesy of lead single ‘Female Vampire’. Given the subject matter, Hval could’ve gone all the way with the vampire motif (perhaps like some musical version of “Bram Stoker’s Dracula”?), but instead we get some of that beguiling and ethereal folk-pop Hval’s perfected over the last 10 years. A blend of dreamy guitars and the steady pitter-patter of drums create a sense of gentle beauty and all-consuming urgency. However, it’s Hval’s angelic croon that will hypnotize faster than Count Dracula himself. Listen in below.

Pre-orders for Blood Bitch are available here. In support of the LP, Hval will be on tour starting in June, with dates across the U.K, Europe and a few stateside. Check out the schedule here.

Below, peep the album art followed by the tracklist.


Blood Bitch Tracklist:
1. Ritual Awakening
2. Female Vampire
3. In The Red
4. Conceptual Romance
5. Untamed Region
6. The Great Undressing
7. Period Piece
8. The Plague
9. Secret Touch
10. Lorna