On May 27th, California alt rockers Thrice will return with their ninth studio album, To Be Everywhere Is To Be Nowhere. Already we’ve heard the slow-burning lead single ‘Blood On The Sand,’ and today the band has unveiled single No. 2 with ‘Black Honey.’

Speaking with NPR (which premiered the track), frontman Dustin Kensrue said that the grand, swelling rock ballad was created early in the album’s recording process. He also explained that under the layers of crunchy guitars and pulverizing drums rests a fairly poignant political message.

” ‘Black Honey’ was built from one of the first ideas we started jamming on when we got back together to write this record,” he said. “Lyrically the song spawned from an image that popped into my head; someone continually swatting at a swarm of bees to get their honey, but somehow not understanding why they would sting back in return. It seemed a fitting metaphor for much of U.S. foreign policy.”

Listen in below.

Pre-orders for the album are available here. In support, Thrice will hit the road this June, and you can consult the full schedule here.

To Be Everywhere Is To Be Nowhere Tracklist:
01. Hurricane
02. Blood On The Sand
03. The Window
04. Wake Up
05. The Long Defeat
06. Seneca
07. Black Honey
08. Stay With Me
09. Death From Above
10. Whistleblower
11. Salt And Shadow

By Chris Coplan

Over the last seven years, Chris has held a number of titles in music journalism, including news writer, reviewer, and columnist. He lives in Chicago, a mere stone's throw from Lake Michigan, and owns a dog he didn't want to name Blade.