The One World Media Awards winners announced

The One World Media Awards winners announced

You may wonder; what of One World Media? Well “One World Media is a non-profit organisation that supports international journalism and promotes media coverage of global issues. For over 25 years, they have been working with partners in the UK and internationally to enable media that informs and connects the world’s people.” On the 6th May – One World Media held their awards ceremony in London Awards.

The awards celebrate the best in media coverage of the developing world, reflecting the social, political and cultural life of people across the globe. Now in their 26th year, the One World Media Awards have a long track record of rewarding excellence in media coverage of the developing world. They highlight the unique role of journalists, filmmakers and broadcasters in increasing cultural understanding and promoting fairness and justice worldwide. “The winning entries remind us that we all share a common humanity, regardless of the lottery of where we are born. It’s essential to recognize the journalists, broadcasters and filmmakers who help us fully understand what is going on in the world and how our lives are all interconnected,” said Clothilde Redfern, Director of One World Media.

The Awards is attended each year by key figures from the media industry, education, government and development NGOs. The 13 award categories cover all media platforms, from television and radio to print and digital media.

One World Media Awards 2014 Winners:

Television Award – sponsored by European Bank for Reconstruction and Development

Channel 4’s Dispatches: Children on the Frontline

Documentary Award – sponsored by Bertha Foundation

Light Fly, Fly High, directed by Beathe Hofseth and Susann Østigaard

Radio Award

Law Behind Bars, BBC World Service

News Award

Mark Townsend’s piece for The Observer Raped, plundered, ignored: central Africa State where only killers thrive

Corruption Reporting Award – sponsored by Transparency International

BBC Panorama’s Where’s Our Aid Money Gone?

New Voice Award

Patrick Kingsley, The Guardian

Popular Features Award

Leave to Remain, directed by Bruce Goodison

International Journalist of the Year Award

Guillermo Galdos, Channel 4 News

Digital Media Award – sponsored by Google

Invisible Picture Show, Tim Travers Hawkins with Andy Noble & Faction Films

Press Award

Katrina Manson for Welcome to Mogadishu in Financial Times Weekend Magazine

Short Film Award

Not Anymore: A Story of Revolution directed by Matthew VanDyke

Student Award

San San F. Young, National Film and Television School, for Manila Dreaming

Special Award

Premium Times, Nigeria

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.