Sun Airway – Soft Fall

Indie-pop star Sun Airway recently announced the details of his second album, “Soft Fall”, which will be released on 2nd October 2012.

The eleven-track album will include the recently revealed single “Close”, an otherworldly mishmash of sounds and genres, and is a follow up to Jon Barthmus’ first album, “Nocturne of Exploded Crystal Chandelier”.

The album was recorded in Barthmus’ home in Philiadelphia and will be released on the label Dead Oceans. Barthmus takes inspiration from synth pop bands such as ELO and New Order, promising to move his sound ‘out of the bedroom and into cathedrals’. “Close” certainly shows a grandeur that was missing in the first album, possibly due to help from mixer David Wrench (Caribou, Bat for Lashes, Bear in Heaven).

Barthmus describes his vision of the album’s distinct sound “being in giant palaces where sci-fi rules and there is no gravity, making the metaphorical, literal.”

Listen to the single “Close” here. The full tracklist for Soft Fall is below.


‘Soft Fall’ Tracklist:

1. Activity 1
2. Close
3. New Movements
4. Activity 2
5. Wild Palms
6. Laketop Swimmers
7. Soft Fall
8. Black Noise
9. Symphony in White No. 2
10. Activity 3
11. Over My Head

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.